Black Hole Heart

His is a black hole heart and my smile breaks on his event horizon.

Not one for outpourings of affection, he is closed and staunch

stiff and difficult to embrace. Laughter, I think,

is alien and mirth would be turned away at his threshold.

When first we met I assumed his gravitational constant must be greater

than any other man’s to anchor his feet so firmly, to weigh his steps and his words so.

Truly, a singularity.

I, a creature of light and air, a wisp, saw these things as a terrible darkness

and yet, I was not impervious to that gravity.

His eyes, drowning deep, drew me in

pulled me apart

reduced me to the basics of my essence

The existence of a black hole is proven by that which is not seen.

cruelty greed infidelity ridicule

None of these treacherous traits have I ever observed–

proof, therefore, of his noble heart

the galactic center around which my every world dances

Come on over to the Dark Side...Say hello

