THE INNKEEPER’S WARNING – #CoffinHop

Please, I beg you, don’t go out there!
He’s waiting for you in those woods–
A shadowed man upon his horse.
Now, I’ve heard tell, his skull was smashed,
Then up he rose to get revenge.
Oh, I see you don’t believe me.
“Madam,” you say, “you’re telling tales.”

But listen hard; you’ll hear his wails
Ushered by forewarning winds–those
Ghastly sobs from that same bugle,
Legend says, he was murdered with.
Entering those woods insures you’ll
Rest in peace–his fate’ll be yours.

~ Caroline Adele O’Brien
* The Phantom Bugler is said to be in the forests surrounding Forest Grove, Oregon.

7 thoughts on “THE INNKEEPER’S WARNING – #CoffinHop

    • Thank you, Anita! When my family moved to Forest Grove when I was in High School, I was a bit terrified of that phantom bugler and didn’t go near the woods. Lol!

  1. I like it… What I like is I’m way down here in California and nowhere near those woods. I’d probably end up doing something silly like entering them at night…
    Thanks for sharing.

    -Jimmy

Come on over to the Dark Side...Say hello

